Looking Towards the Future: Executive Director search update

By Martha Richards, James F. and Marion L. Miller Foundation
Chair, GRANTMAKERS Search Committee

As announced at our 2016 Annual Meeting, Joyce will be retiring at the end of the year. Since that time, a Search Committee has been formed to identify a successor to build upon the solid foundation of visionary philanthropy she has been so instrumental in creating.

On behalf of the Search Committee, I am writing to update you on what to expect throughout this process.  As much as Joyce will be missed in this role, we are excited and energized about the future of GRANTMAKERS of Oregon and Southwest Washington and this leadership transition.  The search committee plans to complete the hiring process of the new Executive Director by December 2017.

The search committee is seeking to secure a search firm to administer the process.  This will be completed by the end of April 2017.  Committee members are working together to help ensure a smooth transition.  We are researching best practices and reaching out to peer member organizations across the country to inform our work.  As a group, the committee is examining topics such as implicit bias to help ensure an open and inclusive process.  Once selected, we will work closely with the search firm to help generate a diverse group of candidates who are prepared to lead GRANTMAKERS to its Vision 2020 and beyond.

The search committee is committed to engaging in thoughtful and candid discussions with GRANTMAKERS board, members and stakeholders throughout the process.  This begins a series of updates and further information that will be provided, including the position posting when it is ready for distribution. Thank you for your commitment to GRANTMAKERS of Oregon and Southwest Washington and interest in this process.  We are honored to serve in this capacity and look forward to updating you during this process.                 

Committee Members: 


  • Cynthia Addams, The Collins Foundation
  • Aden Bliss, The Ford Family Foundation
  • Melissa Hansen, The Oregon Community Foundation
  • Steve Lesky, Cambia Health Foundation
  • Mary Rose Navarro, Metro
  • Phoebe O’Leary, Meyer Memorial Trust
  • Martha Richards, James F. and Marion L. Miller Foundation
  • Von Summers, NW Natural
  • Julia Willis, Spirit Mountain Community Fund